Beyond Body Language 2: The Dialogue

730158510_std

Welcome to my new Monday morning edition on body language.  I’m pretty excited about the idea of sharing a tidbit every week, it’s a topic dear to my heart and I have a lot say on the subject, even more so having spent the weekend with Anna Blake co-coaching a workshop on this very topic.  To say I’m inspired is an understatement!

One of the most common questions that came up during the weekend was “how do I know what my horse is trying to tell me?”  I think it’s a lot cleaner to keep it simple.

Keep an open mind.  Pause and breathe frequently.  Keep your eyes open, soft and observant.

Horses are communicating constantly and once you learn their language they will share volumes about how they feel and what they need from you. If we get too hung up on trying to apply complex meanings we miss the next sentence or the opportunity to ask a question of our own.

Following is a series of images from a conversation I had with Sundance a few years ago.  Anna refers to the horse’s visual signals as calming signals and boy, Sundance has a master’s degree in communication!

730158416_std

Lowering his head and turning away from me.  The position of his head and neck, his ears, what he’s doing with his nostrils and his eyes all tell me how he feels about my presence in this moment.  What is he trying to tell me?  Simple. I have anxiety about this. My answer can be equally simple.  Pause. Breathe. Watch for signs from him that his anxiety has diminished before moving on to the next thing.

730158418_std

Another calming signal. He’s now turned his head to look at me and maybe consider taking a step.  He’s letting me know that in this moment he feels better about things.  He’s okay.

730158439_std

Check out his ear position and his eyes.  He’s got tension in both and his walk has a quality to it that feels like a robot walking beside you.  Message?  Simple. I could say it’s anxiety, worry, concern – or we could make it even simpler.  I’m not really okay with this right now. It doesn’t matter why or what the story is behind why he’s not okay. The solution is the same.  Find a place to let him stop. Give him space. Breathe and watch for signs he’s okay again then ask another question. The pauses are part of the conversation so long as you keep observing his signals.  His signals are him talking to you so make sure you keep listening!

730158442_std

What do you see here?

730158489_std

I think that when a horse naturally synchronizes their steps with ours that’s also a calming signal. The sideways ears, relaxed and relaxed nostrils.  In this moment he’s relatively okay.  And guess what?  In this conversation he was alternately okay and not okay from moment to moment to moment.  It’s a conversation.

730158505_std

Try to leave them with some space and peace to find their own internal release.  It’s empowering as heck for a horse to stand in their own space and it empowers us too.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Beyond Body Language 2: The Dialogue

  1. Well, of course, I love this tidbit. I’ve been delving into calming signals for two years now and am still on a high learning curve. Horses have so much to say! These photos are great and your words, even more so. I had such a lovely time there this weekend and I have found a kindred spirit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Anna. I’ve had these photos for several years now and looking at them this morning made me realize how much more Sundance was saying than I ever realized. I have a whole new appreciation for what fabulous conversationalists horses really are and agree, scratching the tip of the ice berg with these gracious beings. Yes! Kindred spirits indeed.

      Like

  2. Thank you for these posts! I find them very helpful. We have a rescued Sundance that has been badly abused. Ignoring his ears and other signals could result in being dangerously kicked. He seems to love it, though, when we are patient and mind his signals until we can touch or work with him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

